There are frequently hidden active ingredients in foods that are animal by-products. A real vegan will take the additional steps necessary to find these hidden ingredients and keep from eating them.

If it is a packaged food and it is labled as being vegan friendly, you can be relatively positive that the food doesn't have these active ingredients in it.  It is still a great idea to inspect.

What follows is a list of the active ingredients to look out for. There are 2 kinds of ingredients-- those that are plainly from animal items, and those that could be from animal items or might be from plant made items.

In the 2nd classification, the only method to truly learn is by calling the maker of the food. And if they have no idea, think about not purchasing their item simply to be safe.

Dr. Fuhrman
Dr. Fuhrman

Hidden Animal Products and Byproducts

These components are relatively typical in foods so unless an item is identified as vegan, you ought to actually examine the active ingredients list to ensure they don't consisted of.

*Albumin - originates from egg whites
*Milk items - consists of whey protein powder, lactase, lactose, and things like milk and dried out milk
*Calcium Caseinate-- a relatively usual additive
*Calcium Stearate-- likewise another additive
*Suet-- a kind of animal fat
*Tallow-- animal fat item is made from suet
*Bee items-- This consists of imperial jelly, propolis, honey, and bee pollen
*Carmine-- a food additive that originates from bugs
*Lard-- a kind of animal fat
*Casein-- this is the protein that is in cheese
*Gelatin-- from animals, a popular item discovered specifically in jellies and desserts Other typical hidden ingredients from animals consist of:
*Muristic acid.
*Oleic acid.
*Palmitic acid.

The majority of the above ingredients are normally used as ingredients in food. They have various functions, depending upon the foods that they go in.


The following ingredients have different uses, depending on the food that they are in. Some are additives or preservatives. Others emulsify foods and supply additional fats. Simply due to the fact that it sounds like an animal component, does not indicate it is. They might be artificially made or originated from plants. You'll have to check.

*Emulsifying agents.
*Fatty acid.
*Adipic acid.
*Capric acid.
*Lactic acid.
*Magnesium stearate.
*Anything noted as "natural flavoring".
*Clarifying representatives.
*Disodium inosinate.
*Stearic acid.
*Salt stearoyl lactylate.

Yes, a few of those active ingredients are tough to pronounce-- a few of them do not even seem like food! They all have various functions in the foods that we consume each day, even foods that we do not think about. The point is that if you wish to live a genuinely vegan life, you have to do the extra step and see if your favorite foods make use of the animal variations of these ingredients.

You must understand though, these ingredients are found in almost all processed foods today.  Don't go overboard and worry too much about being 100% vegan. It can be stressful.  Find a good balance of being vegan and enjoying life. 

Being a vegan is certainly takes a lot of dedication. Learning about the foods you eat, the best ways to make vegan friendly replacements while cooking or baking , and all about the ingredient to avoad are all required part of accepting the vegan way of life.

Article by:

Follow U

Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.
Custom Search